PRestige All-Star: Gabriella Miranda

Learn more about Gabriella, one of our committed members within PRestige Agency.

Where are you from?
Patchogue, NY (East end of Long Island)

Major?
I am a public relations major with a minor in American studies.

What made you interested in your major?

I first became interested in public relations when I started working at Good Samaritan Hospital in their public and external affairs department three years ago. I learned the many different aspects of PR in a healthcare setting. I then transferred to Hofstra because of their excellent communications program. I was eager to learn more about what a career in public relations had to offer.

What are you involved in on/off campus?
On campus I am involved with PRSSA and PRestige Agency.

What are you involved with within PRestige?
This past year I joined both Ashton (on campus) and Hilary’s (off campus) teams.  Right now for on-campus we are working with an amazing client, Courtney Hickey, senior Hofstra student who created her own retro-inspired apparel known as Chickey Designs.  For off-campus, we are continuing to work with The Safe Place, currently organizing a flash mob and a media night.

Please describe any past/current internships.
At the end of high school I applied for a summer internship at Good Samaritan Hospital. Luckily that internship turned into my current job, which is extremely rewarding. I currently help out a lot with the marketing, special events, and community relations of the hospital. I have begun applying for internships this summer, and I am so excited to get further experience in the PR industry!

Where do you see yourself after Hofstra?
After Hofstra, I would love to live and work in NYC doing any sort of PR work. I haven’t quite found my niche yet, so I’m keeping my options open!

What advice do you have for anyone else who wants to be an all-star?
The best advice I can give is to get involved with both PRSSA and PRestige Agency. Hofstra offers so many great opportunities within the school of communication so take advantage. If you want hands-on learning experience PRestige is the place to go. You will be able to apply what you have learned in your PR and JRNL classes to the exciting clients they work with. (Plus you will get to meet some great people!)

Enjoy the time you have at Hofstra, apply yourself and pursue your passions!
4 thoughts on “PRestige All-Star: Gabriella Miranda

  1. Congratulations Gabriella, well deserved.
    You are one of the hardest working individuals that I know, and I am thankful to have you as my daughter.
    Bright, talented, compassionate, and a devoted scholar, you will find your future to be very bright……
    Good Luck with all your future endeavors.

    • Congratulations , so happy that your daughter is doing well, she is beautiful , she looks a lot like her mother !
      Please tell lots of luck from me. Hope your doing well ! wish we could get together sometime..
      Love Zia Silvana

Leave a Reply

