Internship Spotlight: Jazz at Lincoln Center

Name of Company/Organization: Jazz at Lincoln Center

Office Location: 60th Street, between Broadway and Columbus

Was it  in-house or agency? In-House

Type of PR: Entertainment/ Non-Profit/ Corporate

Size of PR Department: Small, 4 people

Semester and year you interned:  Summer 2007

How did you find out about this internship? Professor Berman

How many days a week did you work?  Are they flexible? I worked three days a week. They are very flexible!

Was it a paid internship? They give you $50 for 20+ hours.

What  were some of the things you were responsible for? I worked during the summer, which was the planning time for the upcoming season of events (which is Oct. – May), so I did a lot of organizing information, research and brainstorming ideas. I also did a lot of press clippings and got to write some press releases.

What did you learn from this internship? I knew I wanted to do entertainment, and this internship showed me a different way I could go about it, since it’s a venue that produces shows but also offered other aspects. I also learned how to really think like a PR person.

What did you like about this internship? I loved everything! I got to do PR for specific shows, as well as the organization itself. I also was the publicist’s assistant for Wynton, Marsalis and the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra.  Everyone is really nice. You can wear whatever you want and it’s located in a fantastic part of the city.

What, if anything, did you dislike about the internship? Since it was summertime and the season wasn’t in effect, I didn’t get as much hands on experience as I wished.

Would you recommend this internship to other PR students? Yes!

Additional Comments/Advice: There is so much to do here and everyone is very willing to help you out and teach you anything! Great, comfortable atmosphere!

Website

Leave a Reply

