PRestige All-Star: Lauren Taylor

Lauren Taylor

Lauren hopes to make it big someday in the film industry. Find out more below!

Where are you from?

I’m originally from California, but I’ve lived most of my life in Austin, Texas.

Major?

I’m a Film Production major with a Mathematics minor.

What is your concentration within your major?

Within film production, I’m concentrating in being an editor (post production). My main responsibilities include piecing together film and working with  sound.

What are you involved in on/off campus?

On campus, I’m an e-board member of HFC, an Resident Assistant in Estabrook hall and I’m a teacher’s assistant for RTVF 27 a beginning level film course. Nothing off campus right now, but I used to volunteer at the Hempstead Boys and Girls Club.

Please describe your past/current internship.

I just finished up an internship at Red Car Productions, a post-house in the city that edited commercials for Gatorade, Lexus and Febreeze. For next semester, I’m applying to IFC, the Daily Show with John Stewert, and Focus Features.

Where do you see yourself after Hofstra?

After Hofstra, my goal is to get a job in the city, at a post house or editing feature films, and be able to live in New York.

What advice do you have for anyone else who wants to be an all-star?

Never accept no as an answer. If you don’t hear back from an internship you really want, don’t be afraid to call or email someone again. Persistence can lead to getting a job or internship you really want. As long as you stay polite, no one will think of it as rude.

Leave a Reply

