Internship Spotlight: Atlantic Records

Name of Company/Organization: Atlantic Records

Office Location: 1290 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY

Was it In-House or Agency? In-House

Type of PR: Entertainment/Music

Size of PR Department: Small

Semester and year you interned: Fall 2008

How did you find out about this internship? I called an assistant who I knew worked at the company and asked if any positions were available.

How many days a week did you work?  Are they flexible?
I worked 2-3 days per week. They are flexible when it comes to what days you work, but it is mandatory to be in the office by 9am.

Was it a paid internship? It was not paid, but they will give you money  toward transportation.

What were some of the things you were responsible for? Because it was the promotions department, I performed a lot of clerical duties and mainly pitched ideas.

What did you learn from this internship? I learned the importance if networking, how to be aggressive but likeable when networking, and the fundamentals of professionalism and work relationships in the entertainment industry.

What did you like about this internship? The people, location, and benefits were the best part.

What, if anything, did you dislike about the internship? I disliked some of the work because I felt I couldn’t show my PR strengths and capabilities in my department.

Would you recommend this internship to other PR students? YES

Leave a Reply

