PRestige All-Star: Gennifer Delman

Gennifer Delman

I had the pleasure of working with Genn over the summer when she was a Welcome Week Coordinator and I was an Orientation Leader. We are now train buddies and go into the city together for our internships.

What does Genn have to offer? Check out her story below! And yes, she does intern for O, The Oprah Magazine.

Where are you from?
Born and raised in Cranston, Rhode Island.

Major?
Journalism (focusing on print) with a minor in graphic arts.

What got you into your major?
Well, I’ve been into magazines ever since I was younger. I used to beg my Mom to take me to the closest bookstore just so I could read anything that I could get my hands on. It wasn’t until I was 14 or so that I realized my passion for magazines could become a career (thanks, “13 Going on 30”). Soon after this I wrote a letter to former Seventeen editor-in-chief Atoosa Rubenstein who took the time to reply to me. This only confirmed my passion and I’ve stuck with it ever since. Now I’m more of a NYLON and Glamour kind of girl.

What are you involved in on/off campus?
On campus I am the Vice President of magazine networking club Ed2010 and am in the process of founding one of the first campus branches of nonprofit She’s the First. I’ve worked for Student Leadership and Activities as a Welcome Week Coordinator (check out the brochure I helped write/design here) and Public Safety as a Resident Safety Team Leader. In my free time I also write for online women’s magazine hercampus.com, which three Harvard students founded.

What internship do you have/have you had in the past?
I currently intern for O, The Oprah Magazine. As a sophomore I interned for Hearst Magazines Digital Media’s Teen Network, where I contributed to seventeen.com,  seventeen.com/cosmogirl, and donatemydress.org.

Can you describe your internship for us a little?
Sure! As an editorial intern at O I assist all of the junior level editors. Whether it’s transcribing interviews with celebrities, attending meetings on behalf of the food editor, or doing research for stories, each day is totally different, which I love. It’s a dream to be immersed in the magazine environment, especially with such a group of friendly and talented people like at O. My favorite part of it all is getting an exclusive, behind-the-scenes glimpse into how editorial content is put together before it goes to print. And in case you’re wondering… no, I haven’t seen Oprah in the office… yet!

Where do you see yourself after Hofstra?
Great question. I hope to be exploring my interests in magazine journalism, digital media, or publishing in the city by the time I graduate. All three of these are intertwined, so being a part of any of them would be mentally stimulating and satisfying.

What advice do you have for anyone else who wants to be an all-star?
Pursue your passions! Whatever they are, it’s possible for you to make a career out of it. Your path doesn’t have to carved out for you, today’s technology allows you to design your own. I recently attended a conference hosted by Donna Karan, Arianna Huffington, and Sarah Brown where powerful women shared their stories and words of advice. Beauty guru Bobbi brown advised: “Do what you love, love what you do, and you’ll be successful.” Consider her advice and apply it to your own life.

Also, I must advise any upcoming all stars to utilize social media (blogging, Twitter, LinkedIn) and all of the wonderful resources Hofstra offers us. All of HU’s departments are filled with administrators that are experienced and ready to help you grow and learn (Career Center, OSLA, etc.). Don’t sit idly by!

Follow me! (@GenniferDelman)

Nick Schweers
Digital Media Chair

One thought on “PRestige All-Star: Gennifer Delman

Leave a Reply

