“Current Events”

This semester I take PR 103 Copywriting with the lovely Professor Geyer.  At the beginning of each class we discuss currents events in the PR world, which often provides me inspiration of what to write about.  After a few weeks of discussing the Chris Brown and Rihanna debacle, it was time to discuss something just as shocking.

Rachel Maddow, host of The Rachel Maddow on MSNBC,  feistily dissed the firm Burson-Marsteller, calling it “the PR firm from hell” due to the firms interesting history of clients, including Blackwater and Phillip Morris.  Whether it was intentional or not, the point of the segment was how AIG (famous for taking tax payers’ money to pay for luxury getaways) hired Burson-Marsteller to work on their image and the irony of how AIG would fare better if they worked on IMPROVING their company and become good guys, instead of trying to make us believe they are the good guys when they are “evil”.  My favorite quote rom Maddow was  ““When evil needs public relations, evil has Burson-Marsteller on speed dial.”

The CEO of Burson-Marsteller has since defended his company.  In an internal memo to employees, Penn said the company is “proud to work for AIG – work that has nothing to do with ‘burnishing their image’ but is all about helping this company handle the massive volume of media, government and employee interest in their situation.”

I was more interested in how entertaining Maddow was, personally.  Having never watched her show before, I half expected to hear “ba da BUM!” after each one-liner.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We all love social media and all forms of communication, but during a moment of destination, who do you turn to?

Twitter, of course.

On March 11, Hamilton Nolan of  Gawker wrote that a poor fellow named David Prager had an intruder invade his house…and he let us all know on Twitter.  Before heroically dragging the man out of his bathroom (it is a long story…told in tweets), he even makes an video of it and uploads it on Youtube!  Thank you Gawker for providing the feed to this thrilling tale.

No words for this. I mean, no words. We present the entire feed as it occurred:

# ok, maybe I should lock my door – I swear a random dude just walked into my bathroom and I can’t believe I haven’t freaked out
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# and I can’t believe I’m tweeting about it while he is still in there — in wonder of he is sleep walking – or if maybe I should freak out
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# ok – he’s still in the bathroom and Im now thinking a combo of hobo and drunk and sleepwalking dude – he seems late 20s – hmmm what next ?
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# I’m thinking the hobo part cause I can smell BO – and I really am wondering why I haven’t freaked the F out
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# maybe I should mention I live in a relatively rustic studio apartment in SF
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

Yes, please, tell us more.

# there is no TP in my bathroom – wonder if that is complicating things for him – was gonna wait for him to come out and kick him out
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# hmmm — should I call the cops like you guys have recommended? find a blunt object before opening the door? my gut tells me he’s harmless
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# but … I could be wrong about the harmless assumption
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# I’m now thinking maybe he’s passed out in my bathroom — I guess that’s better than violent — but I have no idea. time to freak out??
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# ok – about to make move – putting shoes on first
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# glad that GF wasn’t here
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

As is she.

# ok – have weapon if I need it – but don’t plan on any confrontation with it – about to go in
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# haven’t gone in yet ….. debating calling cops but just feel it’s not needed for some reason (and probably contrary to all logic)
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# ok – still haven’t done anything – he is still in there – gonna setup a ustream now I think – standby
about 4 hours ago from Tweetie

# http://www.ustream.tv/channel/revision3
about 4 hours ago from web

At this instant American manhood reached its nadir.

# going in
about 3 hours ago from Tweetie

# if u haven’t been watching my ustream -the dude passed out in my bathroom and I just dragged him out
about 3 hours ago from Tweetie

# ok – I think the drama is over – intruder is out – door is locked – think I finally need some sleep
about 3 hours ago from Tweetie

David Prager, American man. Prager is an exec at Internet TV site Revision3, a dodgeball coach, and a character already known to Valleywag.

The video:

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You don’t know Cision? How is that rock?

Even Cision, which all pr interns are forced to master, has approached the internet age.  Here is a portion of the article from PRNewser:

cision.jpg

Cision, the popular media research/list building company, has announced new features to its CisionPoint offering. New metrics break down “average visitors per month, average time spent, monthly site views, and number of in-bound links from sites and users in a particular industry.” In addition, a service called “Social Media Engagement Level” measures the “extent that visitors from an industry or interest group engage based on the number of industry-related comments and commenters and size of discussion threads.”

Lastly, “more than 10,000 profiles of social media influencers and crucial data including journalists’ and bloggers’ Twitter names,” have been added to CisionPoint’s database.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by mynameisreb. Bookmark the permalink.

About mynameisreb

I'm a small town idealist living in Brooklyn. I work in social marketing strategy for top digital advertising agency 360i, write for Contently's The Content Strategist, and I'm a co-founder of the fast growing meetup NY Creative Interns. I also love to cook, listen to music, and create art.

Leave a Reply

